Prayers for David Wolstencroft

September 18, 2009

My dad David Wolstencroft’s heart stopped last night. An ambulance was called, and he was resuscitated, but we don’t know how bad the oxygen loss was to his brain. If you are religious, say a little prayer for my dear old Dad, David “Woofer” Wolstencroft. He has been a great friend, supporter and buddy for my entire 4o years on this Earth. A sweet, loving and kind man who certainly liked a drink, a smoke and a lively social chat. But, I guess we never thought his drinking and smoking would catch up with him…he has been sick recently with a cold that was getting worse.

My father is a Christian, and after being asked, Father Bob was nice enough to visit my father today, and give a blessing and say some words. All our hopes and prayers are with him in his hour of need. Come back to us! Time is crucial for him to regain consciousness… and we do need a miracle.

Here is a recent photo of my old man in happier times. Times I would give anything to share with him again.

– His loyal son forever, “Rick”.

IMG_0064

3 Responses to “Prayers for David Wolstencroft”

  1. VJESCI said

    “it was like we was both back in older times and I was on horseback goin’ through the mountains of a night. Goin’ through this pass in the mountains. It was cold and there was snow on the ground and he rode past me and kept on goin’. Never said nothin’ goin’ by. He just rode on past… and he had his blanket wrapped around him and his head down and when he rode past I seen he was carryin’ fire in a horn the way people used to do and I could see the horn from the light inside of it. ‘Bout the color of the moon. And in the dream I knew that he was goin’ on ahead and he was fixin’ to make a fire somewhere out there in all that dark and all that cold. And I knew that whenever I got there he would be there. And then I woke up.”

  2. Richard,
    I hope to see your dad again, too, and wish him well in his present situation.
    He really is a great guy, and an easygoing, tolerant kind of bloke (hell, he needs to be to put up with your nonsense, son).
    All my love and best wishes to “Brando”.
    Mark

  3. Rups said

    I am sorry to hear. My well wishes go out to him for a decent recovery.

    Rups

Leave a Reply

