In Praise of Michael Palin

March 28, 2009

This blog deals with some dark and tricky subjects on occasion and sometimes its good to reflect on some people who are pretty cool and reveal another aspect of being. One such person is Ex-Python Michael Palin. I have had his autobiography by my bed for around a year now slowly reading it. I read about ten books at once for some reason. Some on fast rotation, i.e. Platform by Michel Houellebecq, about five days. Some take a few weeks (most novels) some take two months (philosophical works). This pile is constantly changing. But, Palin’s Python diaries have been there longest in my recent group, on the slow burn, 20 to 40 pages a month. I’m 2/3 rds of the way in. What a charming civilised human being Palin is. The book has an existential humanity that comes across in Palin’s notations on his most creative decade. The stories of the other Python’s are classic, and so too the tales of the creation and genesis of The Flying Circus, Ripping Yarns, Life of Brian and other classic works.

The world can be a dark place, but sometimes you realize it isn’t always that way and chaps like Micheal Palin, to my mind, is one of the reasons why. I like this guy, I even like his daft but sincere travel series when its on television.

He really seems like the rarest of sorts, a really nice, charming and genuine human being.

Mr. Palin, Idea Fix salutes you!

michael-palinpalin_sandison500_14479t

2 Responses to “In Praise of Michael Palin”

  1. He was always my favorite Python. I’ll have to pick up that book.

  2. Great site this ideafix7.wordpress.com and I am really pleased to see you have what I am actually looking for here and this this post is exactly what I am interested in. I shall be pleased to become a regular visitor 🙂

Leave a Reply

