Something truly horrible this way comes…

March 12, 2009

The other day a pal told me about one of the most shocking videos he had ever seen. He also told me it was readily available on a wonderful invention known as the internet.

And, like an idiot, I had to take look at it.

The video is of a cowardly murder committed by the following people  -The Dnepropetrovsk Maniacs

Here is their brief bio:

The Dnepropetrovsk Maniacs is the media epiphet for the killers responsible for a string of brutal murders in Dnepropetrovsk,  Ukraine in June and July 2007. The case gained additional notoriety due to the fact that the killers made video recordings of some of the murders, with one of the videos leaked to the Internet. Two 19-year-old locals, Viktor Sayenko and Igor Suprunyuck , were arrested and charged with 21 murders. A third co-conspirator, Alexander Hanzha , was charged with two armed robberies that took place before the murder spree. On February 11, 2009, all three defendants were found guilty. Suprunyuck and Sayenko were sentenced to life imprisonment, while Hanzha received nine years in prison. The lawyers for Suprunyuck and Sayenko said that they would be launching an appeal.

Well, that may sound like a normal description of random psychos we read about regularly in the media. The video that ‘leaked’ to the internet is not.

To be blunt it is sickening beyond belief. Really and truly…I could not watch it all and will not go back for seconds.

A English journalist watched two minutes and wrote this piece here.

Before watching the video I read the article above and thought, oh well, I’ll watch it anyway. I’d had a pretty big long weekend and was feeling a little comfortably numb on Tuesday night. So, I thought I was ready to witness the extreme ultra violence and nihilism of a real life murder. After all, I had seen some of the Arab beheading videos online…it couldn’t be much worse that that.

So, I went to the site and having heard blow by blow about what happened in it, watched it. Around three minutes in I couldn’t watch it any more. I knew the murderers gloated about it, and moved the time counter to the last 90 seconds and watched that.

At first I thought, well that’s pretty full on. I was expecting essentially a snuff video, so knew what I was getting myself into.

But, I tell you the past two days it has haunted me.  The images from it have flashed back into my head at moments like before sleeping, and other moments of reflection and it is not a pleasant memory I can assure you. Its a sad and depressing memory in fact. A doorway into something truly horrible in the human condition.

Someone posted this cat image below after seeing this video, that seems to spell things out rather clearly, if you decide to watch it.

The address where the video is at, is: http://www.theync.com

You have to search around to find it, and I won’t tell you how. But, its not hard.

I won’t link directly to it.

If you find it and decide to watch it, I must seriously warn you this video is truly horrific, traumatic and terrifying. And in retrospect I would have preferred not to have seen it. But like the cat says, what has been seen, cannot be unseen…

cat_eyes_seen-unseen

5 Responses to “Something truly horrible this way comes…”

  1. I saw this also after it was “recommended” to me by a certain Mr C and found it to be a ghastly, soul-destroying experience.

    I guess that means I’m not the “jaded fuck” Jim Rose once said I was.

    I agree with the cat (unfortunately).

    Good post!

  2. Sir, “rantological” should be capitalized. It would look much better then. All the other words are.

  3. kristen said

    totally sick richie, but that cat is totally cute xx miss you

  4. Ivan V said

    …but the big question is: were the videos “made for order” as stated*? Were these guys paid to make actual snuff films? If like me, you believe the conclusion David Kerekes & David Slater came to at the end of their book “Killing for Culture” that there has never been any actual snuff films ever made, (snuff defined as “the depiction of killing a human being for the medium of film”) therefore making the work of the Maniacs “actual snuff” as opposed to merely filming heinous crimes for the killers to gloat over.

    *”Local media reported that the killers had a plan to get rich from the murder videos that they recorded. One of the suspects’ girlfriends reported that they were planning to make forty videos of separate murders. This was corroborated by the suspects’ former classmate, who claimed that he often heard Suprunyuck was in contact with an unknown “rich foreign website operator” who ordered forty snuff videos, and would pay a large sum of money once they were made”
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dnepropetrovsk_maniacs

  5. Anon said

    Really shocking video. Wish i hadn’t watched it. It does haunt you…and it’s depressing.

Leave a Reply

